PLAY TITLE: WEDDING IN COURT PLAYWRIGHT: NGORU SOLOMON IRUNGU

PLAY TITLE:	WEDDING IN COURT PLAYWRIGHT: NGORU SOLOMON IRUNGU

SYNOPSIS
The play is in a court setting where Kenneth Dixter has been accused of several crimes against the state and civil wrongs against Solomon and his fiancée Nancy. Dixter seems to be winning the case until the prosecuting counsel brings vindicating evidence that turns the whole case around to see Dixter given a mind torturing punishment before being sentenced. This exonerating evidence is the heart of the play as it amalgamates a complicated love story, blackmails, humour, suspense and a colourful wedding that never was. This works in a flashback and forth style, play within a play and an instance where the play starts at the end and rolls backwards.

LIST OF CHARACTERS
NANCY Venus (Lady to be married)
Solomon Potter (Groom-to-be)
Kenneth Dixter (The prosecuted)
Judge
Prosecuting and defence counsel
Court secretary
Elder ( Solomon’s father)
Pastor (Kenneth’s father)
Villagers
Voices

ACT 1
PROLOGUE

(From the audience, Kimash and some agitated villagers frog-march Kenneth Dixter towards the stage)
KIMASH:
We want him crushed! Flat to the ground!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! Flat to the ground!
KIMASH:
We want him crushed! Flat to the ground!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! Flat to the ground!
KENNETH
What? Please. You mean Solomon is…
KIMASH:
Oh, yes, he is…alive. Now come, you tormenter of souls, to the Court of justice of love!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! To the Courts of justice!
NANCY
(Entering from the stage) No! Wait! Please wait. Let the young man be!
VILLAGERS:
What! Aaii!
KIMASH:
No Nancy! Not after all he did to you! Not after what he did to me. We almost died remember?
NANCY
Yes my Love…
KIMASH:
Then why my Love? Let us deal with him perpendicularly!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! Perpendicularly!
NANCY
No my Love…Give him a chance let him open the curtains to the past!
VILLAGERS:
The past? Oh no! Not again!
NANCY
Yes, the past explains the present and defines the future. Ladies and Gentlemen, here comes the court, let’s all gather in the court of justice of love!
VILLAGERS:
(As they chant away to the stage) We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! Yes, flat to the ground! We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! (Fading) We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! We want him crushed! Flat to the ground!
ALL:
We present…WEDDING IN COURT!

SCENE ONE
(Curtains open, a court setting is visible. The defence and prosecuting counsel are in their postions. Mr Dixter in the docks)

COURT SECRETARY:
All arise, court in session, Justice Winnie Pharis presiding.
JUDGE:
(Enters and takes position) In the matter of Mr. Solomon Potter and the state versus Mr. Kenneth Dixter,(Facing Kenneth) Mr. Kenneth Dixter…
KENNETH
Yes your honour…
JUDGE:
You are here-by charged with the illegal interference of Solomon’s wedding, attempted murder, illegal possession of fire arms, causing public unrest and attempting to marry one Ms NANCY Venus against her will. This is contrary to(Flipping through the pages of a book) chapter four article 45, article 26 and articles 28, 36 and 39 respectively of the constitution of this land. Do you still maintain your plea of not guilty?
KENNETH
Yes your honour!
JUDGE:
Defence Counsel…
DEFENCE COUNSEL:
Yes your honour.
JUDGE:
To What are your concluding remarks?
DEFENCE COUNSEL:
Thank you your honour. You honour, my client here, Mr. Kenneth Dixter is wrongly accused here-in of crimes and civil wrongs that he never committed. In fact if pulling a beautiful naive young girl from the jaws of an uncivilized wedding where there is no love is wrong, then I…
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Objection your honour! Enticing one with the prospects of ones authority and all the aforementioned wrongs only to abuse ones dignity is with all intent and purposes a crime your honour!
JUDGE:
Objection overruled! Defence Counsel, you may proceed!
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Your honour, my client here has a bad stomach, we have to hurry the case or else…
JUDGE:
Order! Order in my court!
DEFENCE COUNSEL:
Thank you your honour, based on all the evidence adduced here in this court, my client is clearly innocent and should be acquitted of all charges! I rest my case.
JUDGE:
Prosecuting counsel?
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Yes your honour.
JUDGE:
You may proceed.

PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Thank you your honour. Your honour, the prosecuting counsel would like to call in, its surprise witnesses if it pleases the court!
DEFENCE COUNSEL:
Objection you honour!
JUDGE:
Objection Overruled! If the potential witnesses have the ability to turn this entire case around, then so be it! Prosecuting counsel, you may proceed.
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Thank you your honour. I hereby call to the stands Ms NANCY Venus!
KENNETH
What?!
DEFENCE COUNSEL:
Objection Your honour!
JUDGE:
Overrulled! (Enters Nancy) Prosecuting Counsel, please proceed.
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Thank you your honour! (To the Nancy) Nancy.
NANCY
Yes your honour.
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Do you swear to tell this honorable court the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?
NANCY
Yes your honour.
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Please proceed.

ACT 2
SCENE 1
FLASHBACK
(Music plays as the court setting changes into a village setting. Blue lighting fills the stage.)
NANCY
(In soliloquy amid soft music. NANCY is singing)
Oh, don’t I look gorgeous, this beautiful Venus girl of Kimash!
Look at my body, my complexion, height and beauty,
not to mention this sweet heart that Kimash really treasures.
I just came from the salon,
don’t you love my hair style-a combination of blow-dry, pussy-cat and mosodo.
Don’t I look like a real illusion?n instrument that you will love the percussion?
I am the real salvation, for the redemption of the affliction,
of course the solution… for Kimash.
KENNETH
(Enters whistling. Music stops) The fantasies of the book you gave me have been overcome by your pressure on me to return it.
NANCY
Njoro, what are you doing here?
(Asides) coming to spoil my time as I wait for my love.
KENNETH
Oh, what a question, you know I am your love and…
NANCY
Your what? Listen Njoro, I have told you time and again, I have a lover, my wonderful Kimash…
KENNETH
(Laughing hysterically)Hear even the name, Solomon Potter, (laughs sarcastically) Potter…What is it with you that guy? He has no swag, doesn’t know how to dress, dance, walk, or even talk.(Laughs)Look at me, I am swaggarific, so swaggarific.
NANCY
Well, will I eat swag? Will swag take me out; pay my bills or treat me well? Will swag love me? Can I love swag back? Will swag make love to me?
KENNETH
What?
NANCY
Well, take it or swallow it, Kimash and I are getting married in a couple of days.
KENNETH
So, this is true? I knew it, but you know what, unless my father is not the high pastor of this village, and you know that no other person can legalise the wedding. My father knows I want you.
NANCY
(Asides)You see, he wants me, he doesn’t love me, just wants me.
KENNETH
(Asides)If only I could get this beauty for a night.
The wedding will not continue!
NANCY
The wedding will continue!

KENNETH
The wedding will not continue!
NANCY
I said the wedding will continue! And you think you are intelligent?
(Asides)This is a ndongomothi, salamander, the leg of a fish!
Well, I am very sure you will succeed, because you know Kimash’s father is not the elder of the village.
KENNETH
And what will that feeble man do? Elder, elder, elder means nothing!
NANCY
You really think so? Look at what happened then…
(They freeze as the pastor, Kenneth Dixter’s father and the elder, Solomon’s father appear on stage)
SCENE 2
PLAY WITHIN A PLAY
PASTOR:
(Reciting in Latin) Ave Maria…SOME LINES MISSIN
ELDER:
SOME LINES MISSING
PASTOR:
Oh, surely, God is great! What brings you to my house today elderly man? (Sarcastically) What have I done to deserve such honours?
ELDER:
I know you are a powerful man, they call you a total man, very holy, the high pastor, the only one in the village and my visit here is a privilege to you!
PASTOR:
Privilege? What privilege elder?
ELDER:
Well, you know you are the only one who can grace weddings in this village, and my daughter NANCY Venus is getting married. This will earn you reputation as the officiator of weddings.
PASTOR:
Of course I know Venus is getting married, but we have not planned for it.
ELDER:
I know of your plot with your son, but you will not succeed! This wedding must continue!
PASTOR:
The wedding will not continue!
ELDER:
The wedding will continue!
PASTOR:
The wedding will not continue, you parrot!
ELDER:
Oh, yes, the wedding will continue! Who is the loudest man in the village? Whose
voice is heard most in the village? Who is the most trusted man in the village?
PASTOR:
Definitely it is you elder, but what has that to do with my word that this wedding
will not continue?
SCENE 3
FLASHFORWARD
ELDER:
(Calling)My people, gracious people of Kitambaya?
VOICES:
Yes mzee.
ELDER:
(Amid murmurs) Do you want to know how Pastor Nathaniel Dixter got to this village?
VOICES:
Yes mzee.
ELDER:
He was excommunicated from his village for killing his wife. He also sodomised young boys who came for catechism. He introduced his son Kenneth Dixter to drugs. And he has been embezzling the church funds.
VOICES:
Yes mzee.
ELDER:
Don’t you think he deserves castigation, preferably burning him?
VOICES:
Yes mzee. Burn him! Burn him! Burn him! (Fading) Burn him! Burn him!
PASTOR:
(Amid the noises) This is not true, he is only here to malign my name.
ELDER:
(Calling)My people, gracious people of Kitambaya?
VOICES:
Yes mzee. (Amplified voices) Burn him! Burn him! Burn him! (Fading) Burn him! Burn him!
ELDER:
(Amid murmurs) Well, listen to the voices. The voices and noises. Noises of them without choices… (Laughs)
END OF FLASHFORWARD
SCENE 4
PASTOR:
Are you trying to blackmail me?
ELDER:
Blackmail, white mail, blue mail, blueprint, whatever you call it, this wedding must continue. The people of Kitambaya will believe me.
PASTOR:
You win! Don’t try to tarnish my name. This wedding takes place in a couple of days, presided by I and nobody will stop it!
(They exit)
END OF PLAY WITHIN A PLAY

SCENE 5
NANCY
(Sarcastically)Surely this wedding will not continue!
KENNETH
I have to see my father. (Exits)
KIMASH:
Oh, my angel, you really look gorgeous today…as always. You are fearfully and wonderfully made, but you are more wonderfully made than fearfully. You are not fearful darling, I beg to object that.

NANCY
(Embracing him)Solomon…
KIMASH:
Sshhh…Kimash!
NANCY
My Kimash…hahaha, you have swag.
KIMASH:
Let us leave honey and get ready for the wedding. (They exit)

SCENE 6
(Wedding setting. Music, today is my wedding day)
PASTOR:
Dearly beloved, we are all gathered here in this holy ceremonial matrimonial ceremony, to celebrate the union in marriage between one…NANCY Venus and Solomon Potter…who also happens to be the son of our village elder…Mr. Onesmus Potter. We always say, “What the Lord has coalesced, let no thunder put asunder!”,but if there is anyone with an objection towards this union, let them speak now, or hold their peace forever.
(Silence. A young man stands and walks towards the couple. Everyone is perplexed. He moves and takes a photo then goes back to his seat. People laugh and clap)
If that is so, I hereby declare you…
(A gunshot is heard. Everyone is gasps)
KENNETH
(Enters holding a gun) The wedding will not continue! This is supposed to be my girl.
(Everyone tries to speak telling him to put the fire arm down)
Let not anyone dare to come near me. I must kill this girl.(He raises his gun and points it towards Nancy)
EVERYONE:
No!No…

SLOWMOTION AMID DRUMS
(Kenneth shoots at NANCY but Kimash jumps infront and the bullet hits him. Kenneth shoots again and Kimash does the same. NANCY collapses down as Kimash lies aside with blood oozing. Kenneth tries shooting again but his gun has no bullets. He starts running away. Some agitated villagers run after him. Meanwhile NANCY nurses Potter who wakes and follows the villagers leaving Nancy)
(After a while, from the audience, Kimash and some agitated villagers frog-march Kenneth Dixter towards the stage)

ACT 3
SCENE I

KIMASH:
We want him crushed! Flat to the ground!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! Flat to the ground!
KENNETH
What? Please. You mean Solomon is…
KIMASH:
Oh, yes, he is…alive. Now come, you tormenter of souls, to the Court of justice of love!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! To the Courts of justice!
NANCY
(Entering) No! Wait! Please wait. Let the young man be!
VILLAGERS:
What! Aaii!
KIMASH:
No Nancy! Not after all he did to you! Not after what he did to me. We almost died remember?
NANCY
Yes my Love…
KIMASH:
Then why my Love? Let us deal with him perpendicularly!
VILLAGERS:
Yes! Perpendicularly!
NANCY
No my Love…Give him a chance let him open the curtains to the past!
VILLAGERS:
The past? Oh no! Not again!
NANCY
Yes, the past explains the present and defines the future. Ladies and Gentlemen, here comes the court, let’s all gather in the court of justice of love!
VILLAGERS:
(As they chant away to the stage) We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! Yes, flat to the ground! We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! (Fading) We want him crushed! Flat to the ground! We want him crushed! Flat to the ground!
END OF FLASHBACK

SCENE 2
(Back to court setting)
NANCY
Your honour, that is the true account of all that happened up to when we brought the culprit here. Thank you your honour. Thank you counsel
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Thank you Ms. Nancy. Your honour, my witness testimony has just proven to us beyond reasonable doubt that the accused is guilty of charged!
KENNETH
Lies! All that are lies your honour!
NANCY
Please taste a dose of your own medicine in silence Dixter!
KENNETH
You are only out to malign my name!
JUDGE:
Order in my court! Kenneth Dixter, you are here-by charged with…
(Kenneth whispers something to the defense counsel)
PROCECUTING COUNSEL:
Your honour, my client here has a bad stomach, we request that he goes for a call before the verdict…
JUDGE:
(To the prosecuting council) Overruled! Let him wait for the verdict.(To the defendant) Kenneth Dixter, you are here-by charged with the illegal interference of Solomon’s wedding, attempted murder, illegal possession of fire arms, causing public unrest and attempting to marry Ms NANCY Venus against her will.
Following the evidence given here-in, this honorable court rules in favour of the plaintiff and it hereby finds you guilty as charged.
You are hereby sentenced to attending the wedding and seeing Potter kiss the bride.
Further to that you shall serve life imprisonment with hard labour! Case closed! The court has now allowed the defendant to take the call before being taken to the cells and adjourning the session.
(Kenneth is taken out by the court Askari. After a moment of silence and murmurs, the askari returns)
ASKARI:
Your… Your honour…He…He has escaped!
COURT ATTENDANTS:
What?
(Everyone arises and starts exiting in slow motion. A dying closure of music)

THE END

Copyright Protected 2012

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

